Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

PubMed LinkOut FAQ

PubMed LinkOut FAQ

PubMed provides free access to MEDLINE, the National Library of Medicine’s (NLM) bibliographic database. The NLM PubMed LinkOut feature allows searchers to see whether the Brickell Medical Sciences Library provides online, full text access to a journal article and whether the article is available in print in the library.


How can I access PubMed LinkOut of EVMS resources?

  1. Visit the EVMS PubMed LinkOut site
  2. use MyNCBI through PubMed:
    • Log in to MyNCBI, navigate to "Manage Filters," then "LinkOut" and finally to "Libraries."
    • Check both boxes next to "Eastern Virginia Medical School, Brickell Medical Sciences Library, Norfolk VA."

How does LinkOut work?

Search the PubMed database as usual, then change the display to "Abstract" or "Citation" from the initial "Summary" screen. You will see the library's online article and print holdings buttons. These buttons are only visible for the library's subscribed journals and only if you are accessing PubMed using one of the three methods listed above. Users accessing PubMed from the general pubmed.gov URL will not benefit from the library's LinkOut feature.


What does LinkOut button look like? 

Look for this button on the right side of PubMed result for any journal article.


What electronic journals are available through LinkOut?

PubMed LinkOut is available for journal articles if:

  1. publishers have provided the link to PubMed for their electronic journal and
  2. the library has access to that electronic journal through a licensing agreement or subscription with the publisher.

Some records don't show a button, but they show publisher's buttons. What does this mean?

Some publishers provide links to their journal articles with these buttons. In some cases, the full text is free. In other cases, it requires a subscription or the article may be available on a pay-per-view basis using a credit card.


I'm trying to view LinkOut full text from home. Why does the electronic journal keep asking me for a password?

Most electronic journals are restricted by IP address (a number associated with EVMS on campus network). EVMS users automatically have access if they are connecting from a location on campus. EVMS students, faculty and staff who are off campus must access the electronic journals via the EVMS proxy server.

 


I am on campus or have entered my username and password correctly and the electronic journal is still asking me for a password. Why?

Some journals require passwords and IP recognition for access. Please look for the specific journal you are trying to access and see if a password is required. If you're still having problems, contact us at 757.446.5851 or library@evms.edu.


Why can I get full text access to some issues of a journal and not to others?

Online full text availability is determined by the terms of a subscription license and by what the publisher chooses to make available electronically. 


When I click on the print button, all I get is information about the library holdings. Why?

This is the information you should receive. In this instance, print refers to the paper format of the journal, so you will need to come into the library to use the paper copies of the journal.


I see a journal listed on the library's electronic journals webpage, but I don't see the button for it in PubMed. Why?

LinkOut is dependent on journal publishers/providers allowing libraries to create links to their articles via PubMed. A title might not be in LinkOut because:

  • The LinkOut utility may be experiencing technical problems.
  • Some publishers are not yet participating with PubMed LinkOut, but the articles may still be available through the library’s electronic journals.
  • The online journal subscription might be from a provider that is different from the publisher that is available via LinkOut.

I don't see a Brickell Library button on my citation. Why?

The lack of a button on a specific citation does not necessarily mean that the library does not have full text electronic access. Find a full list of the library's full text online journals. If we have neither print nor electronic access, you may order a copy of the article using ILLiad.


What if I need more help?

Contact the Brickell Library Information Desk at 757.446.5851 or library@evms.edu if you have questions or need to report a problem with PubMed's LinkOut feature.