A-Z Databases

BMJ Best Practice informs clinical practice and provides key evidence and relevant resources at the point of care, organized in a structured, consistent and intuitive way. BMJ uses a rigorous and continuous evidence-based editorial process.
Our subscription now provides access to the new Comorbidities Manager feature in BMJ Best Practice, which provides guidance on the treatment of a patient’s acute condition alongside their preexisting comorbidities.

ClinicalKey is a clinical resource designed to provide physicians with fast, clinically-relevant answers from Elsevier’s library of proprietary medical and surgical content. ClinicalKey brings content together from Elsevier and trusted third parties including over 1,000 books, 500 journals, thousands of videos and millions of images. It also gives physicians access to point-of-care content from First Consult and is updated on a continuous basis.

PubMed is the free version of MEDLINE. LinkOut provides links from PubMed/MEDLINE citations to EVMS full-text subscription journals.

UpToDate is a clinical consulting tool covering the internal medicine subspecialties, family medicine, and pediatrics. Topic reviews are based on clinical conditions. Topic cards may contain aids such as graphs, photos, calculators, links to drug information, and MEDLINE abstracts of cited articles. UpToDate is best for questions relating to diagnosis and disease management. Find out how to re-verify.

Web of Science provides access to the Science Citation Index from 1999 to present and Medline from 1950 to present. Formerly ISI Web of Knowledge. Retied EVMS url https://evms.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://www.webofknowledge.com

Consensus is an AI-powered academic search engine. It ranks the top 20 papers for a search, offers snapshots of individual studies, and lists key insights from articles on a topic. If a user enters a yes/no question, Consensus tags individual articles with yes, no, mixed, and possibly, and provides a Consensus Meter that visualizes the balance of supporting and contrasting evidence.

Sign up for an account using your institutional email.

How to Search & Best Practices

Scite is an AI-powered research tool for discovering and evaluating scholarly articles. Smart Citations allow users to see how a publication has been cited by providing the context of the citation and a classification describing whether it provides supporting or contrasting evidence for the cited claim. Scite is also useful for impact analysis.

Sign up for an account with your institutional email. This will give you access to the trial on or off campus networks. Trial access is also automatic on any campus network or VPN, no account needed.

Scite Walkthroughs Playlist. Includes videos on searching Scite, using Scite dashboards, exporting Scite tables, and more.

Scite Prompt Handbook for Academia

Scite: AI Built for Researchers. A short overview highlighting how Scite supports credible and transparent use of AI in research.