Brickell Library | research | services | about | community | quick links
Eastern Virginia Medical School, Moorman Memorial Library, began in October 1973 when the private community-based Eastern Virginia Medical School opened its doors to its charter class of twenty-four students. The medical school and the Moorman Memorial Library were initially housed in a converted nursing school dormitory, next to Leigh Memorial Hospital in Norfolk, Virginia’s historic Ghent area. Through a bequest of $300,000 from the estate of Miss Lynette Hamlet, the Library was established and named for her sister and brother-in-law, Odele Hamlet and T. Lucien Moorman. The original collection of 5,500 monographs and journal volumes was donated by the Norfolk Academy of Medicine, then called Norfolk County Medical Society. In 1978, the Library moved to Lewis Hall. In 2000, it moved again to its present location and was renamed the Edward E. Brickell Medical Sciences Library, honoring EVMS President Edward E. Brickell's tenure from 1988 to 2000.
The library offers a variety of computing resources for our affiliates, including a 24/7 computer lab and classroom equipped with PCs, scanners , and printing services. Additionally, the library provides public access PCs for medical information searches, and equipment such as laptops and HDMI cables are available for checkout to supporting both educational and research needs.
The Edward E. Brickell Medical Sciences Library offers a diverse collection of resources, including print materials, accessible through an online catalog. Electronic resources, such as eBooks, eJournals, and subscription databases, are available for comprehensive research. The library features specialized collections like the Historical Collection, Student Resource Collection, and Cultural Awareness Collection, catering to various user needs and interests.
Visit here for a variety of useful forms.
Eastern Virginia Medical Center (EVMC) includes Children's Hospital of the King's Daughters (CHKD), Macon & Joan Brock Virginia Health Sciences at Old Dominion University (VHS), Norfolk Department of Public Health (NDPH), and Sentara Norfolk General Hospital (SNGH). EVMC offers secure and convenient parking for visitors, and medical school affiliates.
The library provides multiple printing locations and options for medical school affiliates.
Visit here to contact our capable library staff and professional librarians
There are study tables, carrels, and study rooms throughout the library. These are available on a first-come, first-served basis.
