Clinicians and Residents

Information for Clinicians and Residents

The Brickell Medical Sciences Library provides professional and research support for the EVMS community of clinicians and residents.

Electronic Resources & Online Catalog

• WorldCatis our primary access point for our catalog and collections.
• There is acomplete list of our databaseshere.

Research Databases.Below is an abbreviated list of popular resources used by Clinicians and Residents. There are additional links on the Library'sQuick Links pageand afull list of resources. Off-campus users should always start searches using the unique links at theLibrary web page. These unique links help to fulfill licensing agreement requirements and require an EVMS credential logon when off-campus, on-campus users skip this step.

Professional Journals

• WorldCatis our primary access point for journals.
• You can also search just journal titles

Clinical Reference and Point of Care Databases

• ACP Journal ClubSummarizes the latest evidence-based clinical information
• BestBETs (Best Evidence Topics)
• ClinicalTrials.govDatabase of privately and publicly funded clinical studies
• Cochrane LibraryOrganizes medical research findings to facilitate evidence-based choices
• DynaMed PlusAn evidence-based clinical reference resource
• Medscape Reference Clinical information and resources (Requires a free registration.)
• OTSeeker (Occupational Therapy)
• PEDro (Physiotherapy)
• PubMed LinkOutUse clinical queries or publication type limits to limit searches to clinically relevant articles.
• UpToDateA point-of-care medical resource

Practice Guidelines

• Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)
• Health Services/Technology Assessment Text (HSTAT)

Full-text Resources

• Access MedicineFull-text access to current medical textbooks, study aids, and clinical tools
• ClinicalKeyFull-text access to current medical reference texts, journals, patient handouts, and drug information.
• A-Z eBooks & eJournals
• PubMed LinkOutProvides links to full-text electronic journals articles. Look for the "EVMS" icon.
• STAT!Ref (E-Books)Full-text access to current medical reference texts and clinical tools.

Health Information for Your Patients

• MedlinePlus Consumer Health Information
• EVMS Consumer Health Guide

Clinical Medical Librarian Program

The Clinical Medical Librarian (CML) Program extends library and information services into the clinical environment. Since 1996, the Brickell Medical Sciences Library has offered trained information specialists as part of the healthcare team at the Children’s Hospital of the King’s Daughters (CHKD) to provide case-specific information in support of patient care.

EVMS Clinical Medical Librarians (CML) provide curriculum support, educational opportunities, and research guidance. Their expertise extends toInstitutional Review Board(IRB) assistance.

You can find out more about EVMS CML professionals atAsk a Librarian.

Exam Hosting

The library in partnership with departments hosts professional exams.  Including American Board of Emergency Medicine, American Board of Family Medicine, American Board of Surgery, American Board of Pediatrics, American Urological Association, National Board Medical Exam and more.

Document Delivery and Interlibrary Loan (ILL)- ​Request an Article or Book not owned by EVMS usingILLiad, the Library's interlibrary loan document delivery system.

Hint:TryGoogle Scholarbefore putting in an ILLiad request for a journal article. Look for "All versions" link after the article description.

Contacts

• If you have questions about your EVMS username and password, contact the Network Information Center at (757) 446-5871 or email them at ithelpdesk@odu.edu.
• If you have questions about resources, please contact the Library (757) 446-5851 or e-mail the Information Desk, libBMSL@odu.edu.
• For training information, call April Pace, Education Coordinator, at (757) 446-5846 or email at paceaa@odu.edu.
• For Research guidance, please contact our Clinical Medical Librarians (CML) coordinator Esther Sarino, at (757) 446-5852 or emailResearch Librarians.