Students

Information for Students

The Brickell Medical Sciences Library supports curriculum, research assistance, and professional development for the EVMS student community. The Library is a popular student resource that provides assistance from Clinical Medical Librarians (CML), a computer lab, printers, and study space. 

 

Electronic Resources & Online Catalog

• WorldCat is our primary access point for our catalog and collections.
• There is a complete list of our databases here.

 

Research Databases.

Below is an abbreviated list of digital resources frequently used by students. There are additional resources on the Library's Quick Links page and a full list of resources. Off-campus users should always start information searches using the many resources found on the  Library web page. These unique links help to fulfill licensing agreement requirements and require an EVMS credential logon when off-campus, on-campus users skip this step.

Full Text Resources

• ClinicalKey A point-of-care medical resource
• MEDLINE (OVID)
• PubMed LinkOut The best place to start for many searches. Links to full-text electronic journals articles. Look for the "EVMS" icon.
• Web of Science 

 

Clinical Databases

• Cochrane Library Organizes medical research findings to facilitate evidence-based choices
• DynaMed Plus An evidence-based clinical reference resource
• Essential Evidence Plus
• UpToDate A point-of-care medical resource

 

Find Full-text Books and Electronic Resources

• Access Medicine Full-text access to current medical textbooks, study aids, and clinical tools
• ClinicalKey Full-text access to current medical reference texts, journals, patient handouts, and drug information.
• A-Z eBooks & eJournals
• PubMed EVMS LinkOut Provides links to most EVMS full-text electronic journals. Look for the "EVMS Online" icon.
• STAT!Ref (E-Books) Full-text access to current medical reference texts and clinical tools.

 

Learning Resources

• Boardvitals
  USMLE Step 1 and Shelf Exam review.
• Exam Master Online
  Exam Master Online is an USMLE and board preparation review tool that provides access to thousands of basic and clinical sciences questions.
• Percipio E-Learning Portal (former known as Skillport)
  ​Software courses and eBooks

 

Student Resource Collection (SRC)

The SRC is located on the first floor of the library and contains textbooks, study guides, and handbooks donated by students. Materials can be checked out by students for six weeks. Search online catalog for SRC materials.

 

Document Delivery and Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

​Request an Article or Book not owned by EVMS using ILLiad, the Library's interlibrary loan document delivery system.

Hint: Try Google Scholar before putting in an ILLiad request for a journal article. Look for "All versions" link after the article description.

 

Study Space

The library is a popular gathering space for the campus. There are study tables, carrels and study rooms throughout the library. These are available on a first come, first served basis.

 

Computer Lab and Printing

The library offers yearly print allotment for students, residents, and faculty. To find out more about these resource please visit our website.

 

Curriculum support

For many students, Medical Librarian April Pace's in-class curriculum support is an introduction to the Library's rich resources and a reminder of how these resources can assist, improve, and enrich the EVMS student experience. For more on professional librarian lead instruction sessions please visit our website.

 

Writing Assistance Center

Eushekia Hewitt is a writing coach in the Office of Student Affairs.

 

Endnote

The EVMS library has an institutional site license to EndNote desktop. Use EndNote to collect references, format papers and bibliographies, and collaborate with research partners.  Endnote is also available as an online app.  For additional help on on citing resources please see our Citation LibGuide.

 

Research support

The Clinical Medical Librarians (CML) provide curriculum support, educational opportunities, and research guidance. You can find out more here: Ask a Librarian

 

Statistical Resources

Looking for help with Biostatistics? There are several resources on campus for EVMS associates.

• Check with your department,  Some departments have their own biostatistician.  Pediatrics, Public Health and Dermatology are several examples.
• Research and Infrastructure Service Enterprise (RISE) institute at EVMS can assist with statistical analysis to create research projects with evidence-based foundation for improved patient outcomes by fostering the efficient use of healthcare analytic skills and bioinformatics.

 

Statistical Software

• The Library has SAS available on select computers in the Library Lab. Note that staff has very limited knowledge of SAS.
• SPSS will be part of the Medical and Health Professions Education curriculum beginning Summer of 2022.  EVMS is exploring licensing options.

Student Research Opportunities

EVMS Office of Research works to promote research opportunities in the broader EVMS community and to enhance medical students’ research experiences through close collaborations with existing research programs.

 

 

Contacts

• If you have questions about your EVMS username and password, contact the Network Information Center at (757) 446-5871 or email them at evmsit@evms.edu.
• If you have questions about resources, please contact the Library (757) 446-5851 or e-mail the Information Desk, library@evms.edu.
• For training information, call April Pace, Education Coordinator, at (757) 446-5846 or email at paceaa@evms.edu.
• For Research guidance, please contact our Clinical Medical Librarians (CML) coordinator Esther Sarino, at (757) 446-5852 or email researchlibrarians@evms.edu.