LibGuides: Clinical Medical Librarian Program: Resources

Accessing Information Resources from Off Campus

EVMS network account holders can access licensed library databases and other resources from off campus via the EVMS proxy server. When a restricted resource is selected (e.g., PubMed), you will be asked for a username and password. Once these are entered, you will have full access to the database.

Please note, you must connect to these resources through the EVMS library webpage in order to gain access to licensed resources.

If you have questions about these resources, please contact the Library at (757) 446-5851 or email the Information Desk at library@evms.edu.

If you have questions about your username and password, contact the Network Center at (757) 446-5871 or email them at comphelp@evms.edu.

For training information, call April Pace, Education Coordinator, at (757) 446-5846 or email her at paceaa@evms.edu.

Resources

ACP Journal Club This link opens in a new window
ACP Journal Club is an evidence-based surveillance and abstracting service published by the American College of Physicians. It contains structured abstracts that summarize the most important, methodologically sound articles pertaining to clinical practice.
ACP Journal Club Archives (1991-2008) This link opens in a new window
ACP Journal Club Archives is a collection of articles and editorials from ACP Journal Club published between January 1991 and April 2008 when it was a bimonthly stand-alone journal. Since May 2008, ACP Journal Club has been published as a monthly feature of Annals of Internal Medicine that summarizes the best new evidence for internal medicine from over 130 clinical journals.
BestBETs (Best Evidence Topics) This link opens in a new window
BestBETs are clinically-appraised topics developed in the Manchester Royal Infirmary's Emergency Department. These topics provide rapid, evidence-based answers to real-life clinical questions using a systematic approach to reviewing literature.
BMJ Best Practice This link opens in a new window
BMJ Best Practice informs clinical practice and provides key evidence and relevant resources at the point of care, organized in a structured, consistent and intuitive way. BMJ uses a rigorous and continuous evidence-based editorial process. British Medical Journal.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
ClinicalKey is a clinical resource designed to provide physicians with fast, clinically-relevant answers from Elsevier’s library of proprietary medical and surgical content. ClinicalKey brings content together from Elsevier and trusted third parties including over 1,000 books, 500 journals, thousands of videos and millions of images. It also gives physicians access to point-of-care content from First Consult and is updated on a continuous basis.
ClinicalTrials.gov This link opens in a new window
ClinicalTrials.gov is a database of privately and publicly funded clinical studies conducted around the world.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Cochrane’s Database of Systematic Reviews is a collection of high-quality systematic reviews of controlled trials, including unpublished trials, produced by groups of collaborators (researchers and practitioners) who are organized through the Cochrane Collaboration. The Cochrane Library includes 7 other databases such as the Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects, critical assessments and structured abstracts of good, systematic reviews published elsewhere and the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, which provides bibliographic information on controlled trials.
DynaMed This link opens in a new window
DynaMed is a clinician-focused tool designed to facilitate efficient and evidence-based patient care. Rigorous and daily review of medical literature by our physician and specialist staff ensures timely and objective analysis, synthesis and guidance. DynaMed publishes clinically-organized topics which are continuously updated as new information indicates a need for change in practice. DynaMed content ranges from comprehensive reviews of diseases, conditions, and abnormal findings to highly focused topics on evaluation, differential diagnosis, and management. Drug and laboratory monographs developed and maintained by IBM Micromedex are also included.
Essential Evidence Plus This link opens in a new window
Essential Evidence Plus is an evidence-based, point-of-care clinical decision support system that provides access to over 13,000 topics, guidelines, abstracts and summaries.
Medical Letter This link opens in a new window
The Medical Letter, Inc., is a nonprofit organization that publishes critical appraisals of new prescription drugs and comparative reviews of previously approved drugs. The editorial process relies on a consensus of experts to evaluate the drug facts in order to help prescribers choose the most effective drug treatment.
Medscape Reference This link opens in a new window
Medscape is a destination for physicians and healthcare professionals worldwide, offering the latest medical news and expert perspectives; essential point-of-care drug and disease information; and relevant professional education and CME.
Natural Medicines This link opens in a new window
Natural Medicines provides high-quality, evidence-based information on dietary supplements including herbs, vitamins and minerals, functional foods, diets, complementary practices (modalities), exercises and medical conditions.
OTSeeker This link opens in a new window
Occupational Therapy Systematic Evaluation of Evidence, OTSeeker is a free resource that contains abstracts of systematic reviews and randomized, controlled trials relevant to occupational therapy.
PubMed EVMS LinkOut This link opens in a new window
PubMed is the free version of MEDLINE. LinkOut provides links from PubMed/MEDLINE citations to EVMS full-text subscription journals.
Trip Database This link opens in a new window
Toxline provides bibliographic citations and abstracts from the core journal literature in toxicology. This database is produced by the National Library of Medicine.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
UpToDate is a clinical consulting tool covering the internal medicine subspecialties, family medicine, and pediatrics. Topic reviews are based on clinical conditions. Topic cards may contain aids such as graphs, photos, calculators, links to drug information, and MEDLINE abstracts of cited articles. UpToDate is best for questions relating to diagnosis and disease management. Find out how to re-verify.
VisualDx This link opens in a new window
DermExpert feature now available -- only in the VisualDx mobile app.
VisualDx is a diagnostic clinical decision support system that combines high-quality, peer-reviewed medical images and concise, actionable information to support physicians in accurate recognition and management of disease. Healthcare professionals can input visual clues, symptoms and patient history to help make the correct diagnosis. The VisualDx database covers over 100 medication reactions, all linked to PubMed (MEDLINE) evidence. This database integrates with UpToDate so you may notice additional content within UpToDate marked with a VisualDx icon.

BMJ Best Practice This link opens in a new window
BMJ Best Practice informs clinical practice and provides key evidence and relevant resources at the point of care, organized in a structured, consistent and intuitive way. BMJ uses a rigorous and continuous evidence-based editorial process. British Medical Journal.
DynaMed This link opens in a new window
DynaMed is a clinician-focused tool designed to facilitate efficient and evidence-based patient care. Rigorous and daily review of medical literature by our physician and specialist staff ensures timely and objective analysis, synthesis and guidance. DynaMed publishes clinically-organized topics which are continuously updated as new information indicates a need for change in practice. DynaMed content ranges from comprehensive reviews of diseases, conditions, and abnormal findings to highly focused topics on evaluation, differential diagnosis, and management. Drug and laboratory monographs developed and maintained by IBM Micromedex are also included.
Essential Evidence Plus This link opens in a new window
Essential Evidence Plus is an evidence-based, point-of-care clinical decision support system that provides access to over 13,000 topics, guidelines, abstracts and summaries.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
UpToDate is a clinical consulting tool covering the internal medicine subspecialties, family medicine, and pediatrics. Topic reviews are based on clinical conditions. Topic cards may contain aids such as graphs, photos, calculators, links to drug information, and MEDLINE abstracts of cited articles. UpToDate is best for questions relating to diagnosis and disease management. Find out how to re-verify.
VisualDx This link opens in a new window
DermExpert feature now available -- only in the VisualDx mobile app.
VisualDx is a diagnostic clinical decision support system that combines high-quality, peer-reviewed medical images and concise, actionable information to support physicians in accurate recognition and management of disease. Healthcare professionals can input visual clues, symptoms and patient history to help make the correct diagnosis. The VisualDx database covers over 100 medication reactions, all linked to PubMed (MEDLINE) evidence. This database integrates with UpToDate so you may notice additional content within UpToDate marked with a VisualDx icon.

ECRI Guidelines Trust
ECRI Guidelines Trust is a publicly available web-based repository of objective, evidence-based clinical practice guideline content. Its purpose is to provide physicians, nurses, other clinical specialties, and members of the healthcare community with up-to-date, clinical practices to advance safe and effective patient care. This centralized repository includes evidence-based guidance developed by nationally- and internationally-recognized medical organizations and medical specialty societies. Users must register for free access.
Agency for Health Care Policy Research: Clinical Guidelines and Recommendations
This AHRQ microsite was set up by AHRQ to provide users a place to find information about its legacy guidelines and measures clearinghouses, National Guideline Clearinghouse (NGC) and National Quality Measures Clearinghouse (NQMC).
Health Services/Technology Assessment Text (HSTAT)
HSTAT is a free, web-based resource of full-text documents that provide health information and support health-care decision making, including best practice and clinical guidelines.

Tips for Searching
This is a helpful guide to finding quality information at the EVMS Library and beyond.