Consumer Health

The Alzheimer's Foundation of America's mission is to provide support, services and education to individuals, families and caregivers affected by Alzheimer's disease and related dementias nationwide, and fund research for better treatment and a cure. Their site includes information about Alzheimer's disease and dementia, caregiver support groups, and webinars. They also have a national toll-free hotline and a feature that allows you to find a memory screening site near you.

Managed by the National Institute on Aging, Alzheimers.gov is the federal government’s portal to information on Alzheimer’s disease and related dementias care, research, and support. Information on the site includes causes, symptoms and diagnosis, treatment, caregiving, and related dementias.

This section on the Alzheimer’s Association site contains information and resources specific to Southeastern Virginia, including a variety of services such as care consultations, support groups, and safety services. You can also find information on fundraising events, education classes, and the latest news on the page.

This page provides information on autism from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. Content is organized by the following topics: General Information, Signs, Screening & Diagnosis, Causes & Prevalence, Research, Publications, and Organizations.

The Autism Society is the leading source of trusted and reliable information about autism. Their website has helpful sections—What is Autism? and Living with Autism—that contain information on topics such as causes, diagnosis, facts and statistics, signs and symptoms, academic success, community inclusion, future planning, and more. They also have a National Helpline where specialists provide referrals to services and supports. Included under the Helpline section is a link to Autism Source, the Society's searchable resource database. Some information is available in Spanish.

Autism Speaks is an advocacy organization that provides general information about autism as a service to the community. Among its resources, the site includes an Autism Response Team that can be reached by phone or email; a section with information organized by topic; a series of Family Support Tool Kits; and a resource guide that can be filtered by state, life stage, and level of support. Some information is available in Spanish.

The CDC's page on autism provides information on what it is, screening and diagnosis, treatments, and more. Helpful resources such as Frequently Asked Questions and Fact Sheets are also available. All information is available in Spanish.

Published by EduMed, this guide helps students with autism spectrum disorder learn how to find a school that meets their needs and create an effective college transition plan. It also provides other helpful tips and resources for making college the best experience possible.

The Tidewater chapter of the Autism Society of America was established to help improve the lives of all affected by autism in Hampton Roads. They do this by increasing public awareness, advocating for appropriate services for individuals across their lifespan, and providing the latest information on therapies and supports in education, research, and advocacy. Included on their website are directories for both local and national resources; a calendar of events; and information on what autism is, including diagnosis and early intervention.

VCU-ACE is a university-based technical assistance, professional development, and educational research center for autism spectrum disorder in the Commonwealth of Virginia. Their website features trainings, including self-paced online courses; resources; tools for parents; and more. Their Virginia Autism Resource Center (VARC) page lists several resources that can help to support and guide people with autism. Some information is available in Spanish.

This site from the American Society of Clinical Oncology contains trusted, compassionate information for people with cancer, their families, and caregivers.

This site contains accurate, up-to-date, comprehensive cancer information from the U.S. government's principal agency for cancer research. The Resources for You allows users to find information and resources that fit their needs as a patient, caregiver, health professional, researcher, or other visitor.

This section on the American Cancer Society site contains cancer information and resources in Virginia, including local fundraising events, transportation, advocacy, lodging, office locations, and support programs in our community.

Created by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of the Assistant Secretary for Health, Office on Women’s Health, this site offers reliable, useful information on health and well-being for girls, including periods, pimples, friends, and fitness. Games for girls and tips for parents are also available.

Provided by the American Academy of Pediatrics, HealthyChildren.org includes child health resources for different ages and stages--from prenatal to young adult--including general information related to child health to specific guidance on parenting issues. It also has information on AAP programs, activities, policies, guidelines, and publications. The website is available in Spanish. It also includes an interactive Symptom Checker.

KidsHealth is a website that aims to give families the tools and confidence to make the best health choices. It provides separate sections with information for parents, kids, and teens with each of their questions in mind. It also has a section of resources for educators.

This page on the Adolescent Health: Think, Act, Grow (TAG) site offers links to a variety of resources on eight topics related to adolescents, including general health, mental health, and dental services; life skills; adolescent development; communication; being a good role model; exercise, sleep, and healthy eating; managing health while moving towards adulthood; and relationships at home and school.

Offered by the CDC, this page provides links to resources that can help guide kids in making choices that will lead to healthier lives. Categories include parents, kids and teens, and college students.

This EVMS Library research guide provides information for consumers and health professionals on the outbreak of a new virus, Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19), formerly referred to as 2019 novel coronavirus and 2019-nCoV, which causes respiratory illness in people and can spread from person-to-person. It is one of the rare coronaviruses that originated in an animal, infected one or more person(s), and then spread between people. It was first identified in Wuhan, China, in December 2019.

This page for patients on the GLMA site provides some information and referral services to LGBTQ patients, including a provider directory, educational reading, and a tool to ensure that the right person makes medical decisions for you when you can’t make them yourself.

Equality Virginia is an advocacy organization working across the Commonwealth to build a future where LGBTQ+ people have the safety to thrive. Their Health & Safety page is organized by the following topics: Violence & Trauma, Testing Services, Food Pantry, and Reproductive & Health Services.

The LGBT Life Center provides a safe space, services, resources, education, and support to the LGBT community of Hampton Roads. The Health & Testing section of their site provides a variety of resources, including HIV/STD testing, PrEP, Life Health programs, and more.

Written by Erin Seger, Health Professions Coordinator, for the Summer/Fall 2018 edition of the National Network of Libraries of Medicine's MAReport quarterly newsletter, this article provides links to trustworthy resources for the general public to find health information with a focus on transgender health.

Compiled by the University of Pennsylvania Health System, Penn Medicine, this list of resources provides important legal and health information for LGBTQ individuals and families.

This page from MedlinePlus provides information about health issues that are specific to the LGBTQ+ community as well as on other related issues.

A collaboration between SAGE, a national advocacy and services organization, and 18 other organizations from around the country, the National Resource Center on LGBT Aging is the country's first and only technical assistance resource center aimed at improving the quality of services and supports offered to lesbian, gay, bisexual and/or transgender older adults.

Hampton Roads Pride unites LGBTQIAP+ and allied communities in support of inclusion, dignity, and equality of all people. Their Resource Directory includes phone numbers and/or links to several local and national organizations that can provide assistance with health-related concerns.

The Transgender Assistance Program of Virginia is a non-profit organization created to end homelessness within Virginia’s transgender community. Their Resources page provides health-related services under several categories, including Education, Substance Abuse, Coming Out & Mental Health, and Healthcare. They also have a list of crisis hotlines on the site.

This page on Georgetown University’s National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Maternal and Child Health Library site provides information for families about pregnancy, babies, kids, and teens. It also includes guides to websites, online directories, and other resources to help keep families healthy and safe.

Created by the Association of Women's Health, Obstetric and Neonatal Nurses (AWHONN), this website provides online access to articles from their magazine, Healthy Mom&Baby, as well as videos from AWHONN nurses on topics such as breastfeeding, immunization, fertility, newborn screening, and birth control. The site is divided into the following sections: healthy moms, healthy pregnancy, healthy babies, mom & baby blog, and zones. It also has an “Ask A Nurse” feature where questions can be submitted online.

The CDC’s Division of Reproductive Health provides scientific leadership in the promotion of women’s health and infant health before, during, and after pregnancy. Their Maternal and Infant Health page includes information on a variety of topics, including pregnancy complications, diabetes during pregnancy, weight gain during pregnancy, substance use during pregnancy, depression among women, and more.

MotherToBaby is an information service provided by the Organization of Teratology Information Specialists. The site includes the most cutting-edge and up-to-date information about the risks of medications, chemicals, herbal products, illicit drugs, diseases and much more during pregnancy and while breastfeeding. One of their core values is to reduce the risk of preventable birth defects and other disabilities by educating mothers, health care professionals, and the public about specific agents of concern.

Disabled American Veterans is a nonprofit charity that provides a lifetime of support for veterans of all generations, their families, and survivors. The organization provides rides to veterans attending medical appointments, assists veterans with benefit claims, and connects veterans with meaningful employment. The site contains resources on PTSD, moral injury, traumatic brain injury, blind veterans, post-military health and mental health benefits, and more.

Military OneSource is a Department of Defense-funded program that provides military families with a 24/7 connection to information, answers, and support to help them reach goals, overcome challenges, and thrive. The site's Healthy Living for Servicemembers and Their Families section includes information on fitness, nutrition, active living, and managing stress as well as information on the Healthy Base Initiative.

MedicarePlans.com provides comprehensive resources to help veterans and their families understand Medicare, how it works with VA and TRICARE benefits, and how to enroll.

My HealtheVet offers tips and tools to help veterans partner with their health care teams to make informed decisions when managing their health. Users can refill prescriptions, keep track of appointments, and access VA medical records from the site. Several mobile apps for veterans are also available for download from the site.

The Psychological Health Center of Excellence is the centralized source of psychological health expertise in the Defense Health Agency. They provide programs and resources for service members and their families to enhance psychological health and readiness, including information about prevention, screening, and treatment for common psychological health disorders. The site includes the 24/7 Psychological Health Resource Center for service members, family members, and clinicians, which is staffed by professional health resource consultants with expertise in psychological health and military culture. The center can answer questions about psychological health symptoms and help to find resources. Note: The call center doesn't function as a treatment or counseling center and cannot provide advice.

The U.S. Department of Veteran's Affairs Polytrauma System of Care offers rehabilitation programs to Veterans and Service Members with both combat and civilian related Traumatic Brain Injury (TBI) and polytrauma. In addition to information about TBI and polytrauma, the network site includes resources such as a program locator and caregiver support.

The Multiple Sclerosis Association of America (MSAA) is a leading resource for vital services and support for the MS community. Content is organized by categories, including MS Information, How MSAA Can Help, and Living with MS. Topics include an overview of the disorder, symptoms, treatment, and overall wellness. MSAA’s publications are clearly written, easy to understand, and contain the most up-to-date information. A glossary of MS terms is also available.

The Multiple Sclerosis Foundation is a nonprofit organization focused on providing free services that address the critical needs of people with MS and their families. Their site is organized by categories, including Get Educated, Get Help, and Events. Among the topics are common questions, symptoms, treatment, awareness campaigns, and support groups.

The National Multiple Sclerosis Society’s vision is a world free of MS, and its mission is to end MS and help those affected by it live their best lives. Information on the site includes a definition of MS, symptoms and diagnosis, treatment, resources and support, and living well with MS. The In Your Area/Near You feature allows you to enter your zip code, state, or current location to see what is going on in your community. This includes a calendar of events, services and supports, and groups and discussions.

This section of the CDC Immigrant and Refugee Health page contains four seasonal flu documents based on focus groups and educational sessions conducted with refugees in their native languages. They are tailored by using minimal text and using visual cues to portray seasonal flu information to improve knowledge in refugee populations. Other health topics include hepatitis B, measles, and natural disasters and severe weather.

Put together by the NNLM Consumer Outreach Librarians, this page provides access to a list of health information websites with resources in several languages.

This page on the MedlinePlus website provides access to health information in 60 languages other than English. Information may also be browsed by health topic in multiple languages.

A service of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Administration for Children and Families, Office of Refugee Resettlement, the Refugee Health page provides access to refugee health resources in a variety of formats. Topics include health promotion, health insurance, emotional wellness, and services for survivors of torture. Contact the Refugee Health Coordinator for the state in which you live for information on local programs.

Provided by Bridging Refugee Youth & Children Services (BRYCS), the Refugee Portal is an online resource for newcomer parents and youth. Select “Health & Wellness” from the menu on the BRYCS homepage to see what health and healthcare resources are available for refugees as well as medical providers. The BRYCS site has other categories that may be of interest, including parenting and family strengthening, education and literacy, navigating U.S. legal systems, and navigating your new community.

The U.S. Committee for Refugees and Immigrants (USCRI) developed health resources with cooperation from government agencies, ethnic communities, and local experts to create culturally and linguistically appropriate materials. Included in the Health and Nutrition section are the Healthy Living Toolkit, food and nutrition handouts, and mental health resources in multiple languages. Other topics on the USCRI Research and Reports page include cultural orientation, strengthening families, and financial literacy.

The U.S. Food and Drug Administration’s Spanish-language Consumers page, Consumidores, contains easy-to-read information and useful advice on generic drugs, food, medical devices, cosmetics, veterinary health, health fraud, tobacco products, women’s health, and vaccines. Select “Consumidores” from the menu on the FDA homepage to see the available topics.

USA.gov provides timely, needed government information and services on a variety of topics and makes them accessible anytime, anywhere, via your channel of choice. This Health topic page provides reliable information on the criteria for choosing a health provider and protecting your medical history; finding health insurance, including Medicaid, Medicare, and COBRA; finding resources for paying medical expenses; preventing, diagnosing, and treating diseases; and finding treatments, support groups, and medical coverage for mental health and substance abuse.

This page contains a list of Spanish-language health information resources compiled by the Middle Atlantic Region of the National Library of Medicine, National Network of Libraries of Medicine.