Consumer Health

Know Your Teeth is the Academy of General Dentistry's go-to resource for consumers who have questions and concerns about their dental care and oral health. It contains accurate, accessible information in user-friendly formats.

MouthHealthy is the American Dental Association's patient's guide to dental health. Information is available by life stages where users can find healthy habits, top concerns, nutrition, and fact or fiction information. The site also includes a section with dental visit frequently asked questions.

This in-depth adult health topic from the Mayo Clinic discusses how the health of your mouth, teeth, and gums may affect your general health. Links to several other related topics, including dry mouth relief, heart disease and oral health, and sensitive teeth can also be found on the page.

This page from the CDC offers data and tips on maintaining a healthy mouth and protecting teeth for both children and adults. It also provides information on oral health conditions such as tooth decay, gum disease, and oral cancer.

The American Diabetes Association site offers information in sections to help you determine if you are at risk, learn the basics about diabetes, know how to manage diabetes, plan meals and physical activity, locate local resources, and more.

The Division of Diabetes Translation home site features information on the CDC's efforts on diabetes prevention and control. The information is organized by categories: Diabetes Basics, Prevent Type 2 Diabetes, Living with Diabetes, and Data & Statistics. The site also contains other helpful resources such as a risk test; articles created for people with diabetes, people at risk for type 2 diabetes, and their families and friends; fact sheets; and a glossary of diabetes-related and scientific terms.

This health information page from the National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases (NIDDK) provides links to diabetes basics and other health-related diabetes topics. The information is informed by NIDDK research, reviewed by doctors, and provided to help you understand the diseases and conditions you or your loved ones may face. The website is available in Spanish.

The mission of Learning About Diabetes, Inc., is to provide easy-to-understand diabetes-care information to people with diabetes, the general public, and diabetes health care professionals. Their Consumer Programs page contains helpful information organized by categories: About Diabetes, Type 1 Diabetes, Healthy Eating, Saving Money, Blood Sugar, Be Active! Caring for Diabetes, Medicine, Preventing Problems, and Stressbusters.

Created by the President’s Council on Sports, Fitness & Nutrition, Be Active provides information on the benefits of physical activity for a healthy lifestyle, including tips on how to incorporate it into daily life.

A service of the U.S. Department of Agriculture, Choose MyPlate offers ideas and tips to help you create a healthier eating style that meets your individual needs and improves your health. The site includes a section organized by audience—children, students, adults, professionals, multi-language—so that you can find your healthy eating style and build it throughout your lifetime.

Eatright.org is the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics website. It is a source for science-based food and nutrition information. It is organized by topic—food, health, fitness—and by audience—kids, seniors, men, women—and also includes a section on home food safety.

The Mayo Clinic's fitness page offers a wide variety of information on fitness and physical activity--from stretching, flexibility, and aerobic exercise to strength training and sports nutrition. It is organized into basic and in-depth information and includes an "Expert Answers" section that provides answers to exercise-related questions.

Nutrition.gov is a website sponsored by the U.S. Department of Agriculture that offers reliable information to help consumers make healthy eating choices. Topics include nutrition, healthy eating, physical activity, and food safety.

The Physical Activity site from the CDC shares information created by the National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, Division of Nutrition, Physical Activity, and Obesity. It talks about how regular physical activity helps improve your overall health and fitness, and reduces your risk for many chronic diseases. It has sections for children, adults, and seniors and provides the latest physical activity guidelines.

Provided by Go Red for Women, the American Heart Association's national movement to end heart disease and stroke in women, this page provides facts on heart disease in women, the warning signs of heart attack and stroke, and education on living with heart disease.

This health topic from the National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute provides information on coronary heart disease, which is the leading cause of death in the United States. It includes information on causes; risk factors; screening and prevention; signs, symptoms, and complications; diagnosis; treatment; and more.

Produced by the Mayo Foundation for Medical Education and Research, this site provides a comprehensive overview of heart disease prevention, risk factors, tests and diagnosis, treatment options, lifestyle changes such as diet and exercise, and alternative medicine.

This American Heart Association health topic page presents a brief definition of heart disease and links to numerous topics related to heart disease, including family history, inflammation, air pollution, menopause, and travel. It also includes information on heart-health screenings and heart-health risk assessments.

This American Heart Association health topic page presents facts on high blood pressure as well as information on understanding blood pressure readings, health threats from high blood pressure, and information on creating a plan to control high blood pressure with your doctor.

This health topic from the National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute provides an easy-to-read overview of high blood pressure including causes, risk factors, screening and prevention, symptoms, diagnosis, and treatment.

The CDC’s Division of Nutrition, Physical Activity, and Obesity has compiled a wide-range of resources—strategies of prevention and management, data and statistics, publications—to support their obesity efforts that focus on policy and environmental strategies to make healthy eating and active living accessible and affordable for everyone.

As one of the health communication programs of the National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases, the Weight-control Information Network (WIN) provides the general public and health professionals with evidence-based information and resources on obesity, weight management, physical activity, and related topics.

The American Stroke Association provides helpful information about stroke such as signs/symptoms, risk factors, types, and treatment. The site is organized by categories, including life after stroke, help and support, and healthy living.

The Internet Stroke Center provides patients, their families, and caregivers with valuable resources about how to recognize the symptoms of a stroke and understand how strokes are diagnosed and treated.

This section of the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration site offers a treatment locator, information on helplines, and resources to learn more about behavioral health and substance abuse treatment topics.

The National Council on Alcoholism and Drug Dependence website is for people seeking information, help, and guidance for themselves or another person in confronting the disease of alcoholism and drug dependence.

This website provides facts about the most commonly abused drugs. It also includes information about the health effects and consequences of drug use and addiction and resources for parents and educators, patients and their families, and children and teens.

This website was created by the National Cancer Institute to help you or someone you care about quit smoking. It provides tools and tips to quit smoking, information on challenges that you may face when quitting, and ways to stay smokefree.

This CDC site with content created by the Office on Smoking and Health, National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion provides a variety of resources on tobacco use such as basic information on the dangers of tobacco use, including its health effects and details on secondhand smoke and smokeless products; fast facts; tips on quitting smoking; and information on tobacco use for different populations.