Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Faculty

Information for Faculty

Welcome

Information for Faculty

The Brickell Medical Sciences Library provides professional, educational, curriculum and research support for EVMS  faculty

 

Request a Library Instruction Session
Faculty members with a research component in their classes may schedule a session for their students led by Education Coordinator, April Pace or a Clinical Medical Librarian (CML). Course-related library instruction is one of the most effective ways to teach students the research process. Instructional sessions are even more effective if done in conjunction with a specific assignment so that students can practice the skills and strategies.

 

Clinical Medical Librarians
The Clinical Medical Librarian (CML) Program extends library and information services into the clinical environment. Since 1996, the Brickell Medical Sciences Library has offered trained information specialists as part of the healthcare team at the Children’s Hospital of the King’s Daughters (CHKD) to provide case-specific information in support of patient care. 

EVMS Clinical Medical Librarians (CML) provide curriculum support, educational opportunities, and research guidance. Their expertise extends to Institutional Review Board (IRB) assistance & Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee (IACUC) support.

You can find out more about EVMS CML professionals at Ask a Librarian.

 

Course Reserves
If you would like to place material on reserve for your students, please fill out the Reserve Collection Request Form.. Forms are also available at the Circulation Desk. Please contact the Circulation Department at 446-5850 if you have any questions.

Required readings should be placed on reserve. Please provide a list of materials required for your course so the library can secure them and make them available to students.

Any materials reproduced for the purposes of your course must be in accordance with Copyright law.

 

Exam Master Online
Exam Master Online is a USMLE (United States Medical Licensing Examination) and board preparation tool that provides access to thousands of clinical sciences questions and practice exams. The interface is user-friendly and allows faculty to create customized practice exams, develop tests, create study blocks, and enter custom questions for specific testing purposes.
 

Document Delivery and Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
​Request an Article or Book not owned by EVMS using ILLiad, the Library's interlibrary loan document delivery system.

Hint: Try Google Scholar before putting in an ILLiad request for a journal article. Look for "All versions" link after the article description.

 

Curriculum Support Space
Reservations are made through ResourceScheduler

  • Classroom - This smart classroom has an instructor station and 30 computer stations.
  • Small Group Spaces - The Library has 25 small group curriculum support spaces with 52-inch monitors and whiteboards.
  • SunTrust Meeting Room - This smart conference room has a capacity of 15.

 

Fine Family Academy of Educators
Exists to facilitate, recognize, and reward educational excellence. Construction is underway on the 4th floor of the Brickell Medical Sciences Library with a 2021 planned opening.

 

Research Databases. Below is an abbreviated list of popular resources used by faculty. There are additional resources on the Library's Quick Links page and a full list of resources. Off-campus users should always start information searches using the many resources found on the  Library web page. These unique links help to fulfill licensing agreement requirements and require an EVMS credential logon when off-campus, on-campus users skip this step.

Full-text Electronic Resources

  • A-Z eBooks & eJournals Full-text access to professional journals.
  • ClinicalKey Full-text access to current medical reference texts, journals, patient handouts, and drug
    information.
  • PubMed LinkOut Provides links to most EVMS full-text electronic journals. Look for the EVMS icons.
  • STAT!Ref (E-Books) : Full-text access to current medical reference texts and clinical tools.
  • Web Of Science provides access to Science Citation Index 1999-Present and Medline 1950-Present.

 

Electronic Resources & Online Catalog

 

Contacts

  • If you have questions about your EVMS username and password, contact the Network Information Center at (757) 446-5871 or email them at comphelp@evms.edu.
  • If you have questions about resources, please contact the Library (757) 446-5851 or e-mail the Information Desk, library@evms.edu.
  • For training information, call April Pace, Education Coordinator, at (757) 446-5846 or email at paceaa@evms.edu.
  • For Research guidance, please contact our Clinical Medical Librarians (CML) coordinator Esther Sarino, at (757) 446-5852 or email researchlibrarians@evms.edu.

 

Forms
For library forms, please visit our Quick Links page.